Faculty

Faculty Members

Name Office number Email Phone Research area
John Braun SCI 388 john.braun@ubc.ca 250-807-8032 Computational statistics, with applications to fire science; statistical process control; statistical education
Sylvie Desjardins SCI 385 sylvie.desjardins@ubc.ca 250-807-8767 Mathematical modelling of population dynamics, species at risk, mark-recapture studies
Michael Deyholos SCI 156 michael.deyholos@ubc.ca 250-807-8541 Genetics and genomics of plants, especially in relation to pectin, cell walls, and fibers.
Alekandra Dulic CCS171 aleksandra.dulic@ubc.ca 250-807-9771 Intersection of Culture and Technology, Climate Change communication, gaming and interactive art.
Dan Durall SCI 377 daniel.durall@ubc.ca 250-807-8759 Disturbance and ectomycorrhizal fungi, below-ground carbon dynamics
Sylvia Esterby ASC 347 sylvia.esterby@ubc.ca 250-807-9536 Spatial-temporal modelling, pattern recognition, species-habitat relationships, methods for estimating rare populations
Adam Ford SCI 109 adam.ford@ubc.ca 250-807-9773 Wildlife ecology and conservation; mammals; temperate forests, grasslands, and tropical savannas.
Greg Garrard CCS 391 greg.garrard@ubc.ca 250-807-8479 Ecocriticism, sustainability, environmental criticism and theory; critical animal studies; environmental education; literature and science
Miranda Hart ASC 372 miranda.hart@ubc.ca 250-807-9398 Microbial ecology of soil microbes; the role and the applications of microbes in sustainable agriculture, viticulture, and ecological restoration
Karen Hodges SCI 382 karen.hodges@ubc.ca 250-807-8763 Fragmentation, conservation of peripheral populations, critical habitat designation, population cycles
Laura Hooker SCI 158 laura.hooker@ubc.ca 250-807-9551 Aquatic ecology, saline lakes, conservation
Nancy Holmes CCS323E nancy.holmes@ubc.ca 250-807-9369 Creative writing & poetry
John Janmaat ART231 john.janmaat@ubc.ca 250-807-8021 Environmental and resource economics, particularly the economics of water resources
Melanie Jones SCI 385 melanie.jones@ubc.ca 250-807-9553 Physiology of ectomycorrhizas and roots of woody plants, fire effects on mycorrhizae
John Klironomos SCI 159 john.klironomos@ubc.ca 250-807-9254 Community ecology; soil ecology; plant ecology; microbial ecology; determinants of plant and microbial community structure; biodiversity and ecosystem functioning; microbe’s use to help restore degraded landscapes
Bob Lalonde SCI 316 robert.lalonde@ubc.ca 250-807-8764 Evolutionary ecology, population dynamics, consequences of information use
Karl Larsen (Thompson Rivers University)  klarsen@tru.ca 250-828-5456 Habitat use and movements of vertebrates, rattlesnake conservation
Susan Murch FIP 350 susan.murch@ubc.ca 250-807-9566 Plant chemistry and biotechnology
Bruce Mathieson SCI 378 bruce.mathieson@ubc.ca 250-807-8760 neurobiology of vertebrate behaviour, environmental toxins
Louise Nelson SCI 159 louise.nelson@ubc.ca 250-807-8756 Soil microbiology; plant-microbe interactions; plant growth promoting rhizobacteria; biological control of fungal pathogens; detection of fungal pathogens using DNA macroarrays and microbial inoculants; development of microbial inoculants in agriculture and horticulture to improve plant growth, root development, and to suppress fungal pathogens pre- and post-harvest
Mike Pidwirny SCI 376 michael.pidwirny@ubc.ca 250-807-8758 GIS models of landscape change, species interactions in wetland plant communities, spatial patterns and community structure in vegetation, climate change impacts on biodiversity
Lael Parrott (BRAES Director) SCI 307 lael.parrott@ubc.ca 250-807-8122 Ecological complexity, landscape science, social-ecological systems, sustainable resource management
Jason Pithermailto:jason.pither@ubc.ca ASC 367 jason.pither@ubc.ca 250-807-9629 Spatial ecology, community ecology and biodiversity; how changes in landscape structure and the environment affect biodiversity patterns within and among ecological communities; pattern investigation within a variety of taxa, including terrestrial plants, insects, and freshwater diatoms
Scott Reid SCI 379 scott.reid@ubc.ca 250-807-8761 Freshwater ecology, physiology of fish in response to environmental stressors
Michael Russello SCI 381 michael.russello@ubc.ca 250-807-8762 Ecological and conservation genetics, wildlife management
Rebecca Tyson SCI 386 rebecca.tyson@ubc.ca 250-807-8766 Mathematical modelling, population dynamics, dispersal, spatial processes
Ian Walker FIP 339 ian.walker@ubc.ca 250-807-9559 Environmental change; chironomid palaeoecology; quaternary palaeoecology and palaeoclimatology; dynamics of arctic and alpine tree-line ecosystems; aquatic insect ecology; and biomonitoring; use of aquatic insects (living and fossil) as indicators of environmental change
John Wagner ART 273 john.wagner@ubc.ca 250-807-8001 Environmental anthropology, political ecology, water governance and rights, agriculture and food security, vernacular education and language revitalization, conservation and development, property rights
Adam Wei SCI 309 adam.wei@ubc.ca 250-807-8750 Sustainable forest management, forest hydrology, watershed models